Betraying the Martyrs

Latest Release


Live Albums

About Betraying the Martyrs

Based out of Paris, France, Betraying the Martyrs temper the punishing brutality of deathcore with melodic flourishes pulled from symphonic and progressive metal, giving it a theatricality that feels distinctly European. Formed in 2008, the band, which at the time was made up of singer Eddie Czaicki, guitarists Fabien Clévy and Baptiste Vigier, bassist Valentin Hauser, keyboardist Victor Guillet, and drummer Antoine Salin, would self-release its debut EP, The Hurt the Divine the Light, in 2009. A lineup change in 2010 would see Betraying the Martyrs part ways with Clévy and Czaicki, recruiting guitarist Lucas D'Angelo and singer Aaron Matts to bolster their ranks for the release of their full-length debut for Sumerian Records, Breathe in Life, in 2011. Drummer Salin would eventually leave the band the year after the album's release, but Mark Mironov stepped in to replace him. Their sophomore album, Phantom, arrived in 2014 and included a powerhouse (and critically acclaimed) cover of "Let It Go," the Academy Award-winning smash hit from the animated Disney film Frozen. Drummer Mark Mironov left the fold shortly after the album's release, making way for new kit man Boris Le Gal, who made his studio debut on 2017's The Resilient. Lead guitarist Lucas D’Angelo was the next to leave, replaced by Steeves Hostin, who appeared on the band's fourth studio long-player Rapture in 2019. ~ Gregory Heaney

Paris, France

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada