Latest Release

Artist Playlists


About Ayreon

The progressive metal outfit Ayreon is essentially just Dutch multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Arjen Anthony Lucassen (formerly of the more mainstream metal band Vengeance), plus a revolving-door cast of collaborators and guest musicians that changes from project to project. Ayreon albums are usually large-scale concept epics and sometimes rock operas, in the latter case featuring a different vocalist for each character. Lucassen formed Ayreon in 1994 and released its first album, The Final Experiment, the following year. Actual Fantasy was released in 1996, and Ayreon got more elaborate with the concept albums Into the Electric Castle (1998) and Universal Migrator (2000). ~ Steve Huey

Hilversum, The Netherlands

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada