About Frost*

U.K. neo-prog supergroup Frost* was formed in 2004 by producer/songwriter/keyboardist Jem Godfrey, better known as the man behind numerous U.K. pop hits including Atomic Kitten's 2001 number one smash "Whole Again." Tiring of the pop world, Godfrey chose to return to his first love, prog rock, which he had grown up with and played in his first band, Freefall. Working for six months alone in his studio, he crafted the basis of an album, then approached guitarist John Mitchell of the band Kino to ask if he would play on it. Mitchell agreed, and introduced Godfrey to bassist John Jowitt and drummer Andy Edwards of the band IQ, who, along with Godfrey's former Freefall bandmate, guitarist John Boyes, would round out the lineup. The band signed to German prog powerhouse InsideOut and released their debut album, Milliontown, in 2006, after which they embarked on a brief tour before splitting due to Godfrey's increasing workload. Mitchell then joined the recently reactivated It Bites.
Godfrey reconvened Frost* the following year, however, and began work on a second album. Experiments in Mass Appeal was released in 2008, with Declan Burke of Darwin's Radio replacing Boyes. The band toured again, with several lineup changes along the way. Edwards left in 2008, was replaced by Nick D'Virgilio of Spock's Beard for the 2009 tour, and eventually by Steven Wilson's drummer Craig Blundell; Jowitt left in 2009 to be replaced by Level 42 bassist Nathan King. In April 2011, the band once again dissolved, but was revived just five months later when Godfrey announced he was working on another album. That album took five long years to materialize. To tide fans over, a live-in-the-studio DVD, The Rockfield Files, was released in 2013. Frost*'s third album, entitled Falling Satellites, was scheduled for release in May 2016. It found Godfrey co-writing with Mitchell for the first time, and featured a guest appearance by guitar god Joe Satriani. ~ John D. Buchanan

    East Sussex, England