The Soul of Rock And Roll

The Soul of Rock And Roll

This is the 107-song collection that Roy Orbison clearly deserves. Bringing together songs from every era and record label in one place, The Soul of Rock and Roll allows the listener to hear Orbison's evolution from an early Sun Records rockabilly rocker to the Monument Records artist who recorded some of the most dramatic pop of the early ‘60s and eventually re-emerged in the ‘80s with an enviable set of allies in record producers Jeff Lynne, T-Bone Burnett, Brian Eno, and Rick Rubin, and movie directors David Lynch and Wim Wenders, who understood the overlooked majesty of the man's work and saw to it that he did not go on ignored. Whether it's the initial youthful flash of "Ooby Dooby," or the paranoiac orchestration driving "Running Scared," "Only the Lonely," "Dream Baby" or "In Dreams," Orbison was a singer of stunning virtuosity and emotional depth. Twelve unreleased tracks, demos and live recordings (including highlights from the "A Black and White Night" TV special with Bruce Springsteen and Elvis Costello joining on the Grammy-winning performance of "Oh, Pretty Woman") make this the definitive and comprehensive collection.

Disc 1

Disc 2

Disc 3

Disc 4

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada