The Best of Depeche Mode, Vol. 1 (Deluxe Version)

The Best of Depeche Mode, Vol. 1 (Deluxe Version)

Looking back on Depeche Mode’s first 25 years, this 2006 collection doubles as both an introduction and a fan-favorite overview, mixing up the chronology to emphasize the melodic and textural constants of their evolving sound. Kicking off with “Personal Jesus” and three wonderfully catchy highlights of their catalog, this set foregrounds the group's unerring pop savvy. But it also highlights their range, flitting between streamlined synth-pop (“See You”), stadium swagger (“Martyr”), and the industrial clang of mid-’80s gems like “Master and Servant” and “People Are People.”

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada