That's My Kick (Octave Remastered Series)

That's My Kick (Octave Remastered Series)

With Mack Avenue rolling out these reissues for the Octave Remastered Series over a number of years, the hope is that Erroll Garner, most famously the composer of “Misty,” will ascend in people’s consciousnesses as one of the greatest pianists that jazz has ever known. Yet for all his outsize virtuosity, Garner also functions seamlessly as a cog in a tight and effective small ensemble, as is clear on That’s My Kick, which takes its place alongside Nightconcert, Dreamstreet, and the rest of the fine Octave remasters. That’s My Kick presents Garner mainly with bassist Milt Hinton, guitarist Wally Richardson, drummer Herbert Lovelle, and conguero José Mangual (other players appear as well) in a bristling set of original music plus choice adaptions of Gershwin, Johnny Mandel, and Rodgers & Hart. Garner’s sheer command of the instrument, his tone colors and lyricism, his ebullient swing and ceaseless ideas have an immediately gripping effect. Even his audible grunting on the leadoff original “That’s My Kick” is perfectly placed and musical (the tune itself might nod in the direction of “I Get a Kick Out of You”).

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada