Jean-Baptiste de Laubier has come a long way since working with French rap group TTC. As Para One, the southern Parisian producer takes on many different styles while retaining a soulful thread of electronic music that recalls his undying love for indie hip-hop. Following a dark, Eno-inspired, synth-laden intro aptly titled “Ice Cold,” his 2012 album Passion breaks the ice with “Wake Me Up.” Here the tone is set with a kitchen-sink collage of sounds that plays like MC Solaar doing his thing over a groovier version of The Art of Noise. Para One’s friends Irfane and Teki Latex lend their sultry vocals to the outstanding “Every Little Thing,” a summery slice of future soul infused with neon-splashed R&B; it could have been teleported from the early '80s. Toward the album's end, Latex returns to sing through a Daft Punk–esque Vocoder on “Lean on Me,” a bass-heavy jam boasting some of the baggiest beats since early-'90s Madchester. Speaking of impressive beats, “The Talking Drums” makes good on its name with nearly melodic rhythms.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada