Music for the Masses (Deluxe Edition)

Music for the Masses (Deluxe Edition)

Landing in between the pensive darkness of Black Celebration and the wide-open vistas of Violator, 1987’s Music for the Masses finds Depeche Mode retooling synth-pop for a bigger stage. Seductive and slightly dangerous, the electro-driven “Behind the Wheel” is a masterpiece of the car-pop canon; “The Things You Said” and “I Want You Now” are spine-tingling ballads, otherworldly and unfathomably sad. “Strangelove” gives a glimpse at the pop conquests to come, with country-tinged guitars, production that sounds like a million bucks, and an unforgettable hook.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada