Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 2 & Symphony No. 1

Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 2 & Symphony No. 1

Mendelssohn was 15 when he wrote his Symphony No. 1, 25 when he unveiled his Overture zum Märchen von der schönen Melusine, and a venerable 28 when he premiered his Piano Concerto. No. 2. All three works demonstrate his prodigious talent, each bubbling with energy and high spirits. Pablo Heras-Casado confirms his Mendelssohnian credentials with yet another terrific installment in his symphony cycle. He draws energized, vivid playing from his Freiburgers and, joined by Kristian Bezuidenhout, gives a performance of the concerto that’s thrilling from first note to last. Mendelssohn is rightly revealed here as a true master.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada