Incarnate (Deluxe)

Incarnate (Deluxe)

A sullenness hangs over Incarnate, as Killswitch Engage’s penchant for breakneck tempos and searing fretwork gives way to churning grooves and foreboding melodies. It’s a shift in focus that plays out across “Embrace the Journey...Upraised,” which sees their metalcore blitz downshift into a slower, thicker rhythmic chug. “The Great Deceit” is just as telling: Though the guitars certainly ratchet up their frenzy, they never break free of the drums’ grinding pace. Singer Jesse Leach is a growling, grunting, crooning powerhouse throughout, but especially on the soaring and uniquely symphonic “We Carry On.”

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada