Guilt Trips

Guilt Trips

Sometimes stargazing and sunset-watching is just what the doctor ordered. For those moments, you might want the smooth R&B/rap-infused electronics of Ryan Hemsworth to pull tight around you, warding off the chill and soothing a rattled soul. Guilt Trips is the full-length debut of the Canada-born Hemsworth. Opening with the kaleidoscopic, slow-motion cartwheels of “Small + Lost” (featuring the sultry vocals of London singer Sinead Harnett), Guilt Trips reflects Hemsworth’s studied ear for collaboration and genre-melding. The floating “Against a Wall” features Miami rapper Lofty305, with the vocals playing second string to a heady ebb and flow of synth patterns and shifting backdrop textures. Baths (Will Wiesenfeld) appears on the mood-shifting “Still Cold,” giving the collection a skewed dose of pop melancholy. Instrumentals like “Weird Life” put atmospheric washes to work balancing out the crackle and pop of electronic polyrhythms and echoing vocal loops. “One for Me” drips with Tinashe’s buttery, soulful voice before the hard edge of rapper Haleek Maul glints on “Day/Night/Sleep System.”

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada