Destination Rachmaninov: Arrival

Destination Rachmaninov: Arrival

The second installment in Daniil Trifonov’s Rachmaninov piano concerto series is even finer than the splendid first. The Third Concerto is played with terrific virtuosity and fire, full of surging passion but also with loads of personality. The less-often-encountered First is also beautifully done, Trifonov clearly drawn to its not-so-obvious charms. Under the hugely musical Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the fabulous Philadelphia Orchestra—the Rachmaninov ensemble par excellence—add their mastery to this music-making. Trifonov’s own solo piano contributions are superb, especially his gorgeous and sparkling vision of the silver bells from Rachmaninov’s cantata The Bells. A really impressive achievement.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada