Editors’ Notes The Jayhawks' 2009 set Anthology features two 20-song collections. The first collects 20 of the band’s most notable tracks from six of their seven studio albums to date, including the group's occasional commercial breakthroughs ("Waiting for the Sun," "Blue") alongside stellar cult favorites like "Miss Williams' Guitar" and "The Man Who Loved Life." The second collection features rarities from the same period, with 14 of the 20 tracks previously unreleased. Several are radio performances; others are demos, alternate takes (including “Old Woman From Red Clay,” an early version of “Two Angels”), or covers. Fred Neil’s “That’s the Bag I’m In” and J.D. Loudermilk’s “Break My Mind” shed light on the band’s folk and country roots. The Jayhawks' originals show the magical harmonies of Gary Louris and Mark Olson and their Americana-style songwriting, which virtually re-invented the alt.country genre that emerged as the band itself expanded into the worlds of psychedelia and pop. The Jayhawks have since re-formed and released the excellent 2011 album Mockingbird Time.