Beethoven: The Complete String Quartets, Vol. 4

Beethoven: The Complete String Quartets, Vol. 4

As with previous volumes, the Elias perform an early quartet (Op. 18, No. 2), a middle-period one (Op. 59, No. 1) and a late one (Op. 127), making for a varied and very satisfying trio. Here, the Elias maintain the high standards of the series to date, playing with intensity and great attention to detail while also producing a lovely warmth to their sound. The lyricism of Op. 127, placed centrally, contrasts wonderfully with the first of the so-called Rasumowsky Quartets (Op. 59, No. 1), which is performed with great control and a striking sense of fantasy and originality.

Disc 1

Disc 2

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada