Land of Talk


About Land of Talk

The project of Elizabeth Powell, Land of Talk is defined by their intense guitar playing and keening, vibrato-heavy vocals. When Land of Talk emerged in 2006 with Applause Cheer Boo Hiss, their spiky, raucous sound evoked the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, but their sound soon grew more nuanced; on 2008's Some Are Lakes, they gave equal time to the prettiness of their music as well as its bite. After a lengthy hiatus during which Powell considered quitting music altogether, Land of Talk experienced a creative rebirth with 2017's gently eclectic Life After Youth and 2020's Indistinct Conversations, both of which featured expansive sounds and clear-eyed, confessional songwriting.

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada