About Pyramaze

Pyramaze is a Danish progressive/symphonic power metal unit that invokes names like Helloween, Iced Earth, HammerFall, and Kamelot. Founded in 2001 by guitarist Michael Kammeyer, the band eventually grew into a quintet with the additions of drummer Morten Gade Sørensen (Wuthering Heights, Anubis Gate), bassist Niels Kvist, keyboardist Jonah Weingarten, and vocalist Lance King (Balance of Power). The group's debut album, Melancholy Beast, was released in 2004 via Nightmare Records. Guitarist Toke Skjønnemand joined the group shortly thereafter, and made his first studio appearance on the 2006 concept LP Legend of the Bone Carver. Vocalist Lance King left the group the following year, and was replaced by Iced Earth's Matt Barlow, who appeared on the band's 2008 outing, Immortal. However, it would be Barlow's sole contribution to Pyramaze, as he rejoined Iced Earth shortly after the album's release. The group experienced its biggest shakeup yet in 2011, with founder Kammeyer and bassist Kvist announcing their departures, but keyboardist Weingarten and drummer Sørensen vowed to keep going, enlisting longtime producer Jacob Hansen to take over guitar duties, and bringing in new vocalist Terje Haroy. Disciples of the Sun, Pyramaze's first outing with the new crew, arrived in 2015 via Inner Wound Recordings. Two years later, the band issued its fifth studio long-player, Contingent. ~ James Christopher Monger

    Hjordkær, Denmark

Similar Artists