Featured Video

Top Songs


Music Videos

Artist Playlists

Singles & EPs

Appears On

About NCT 127

Chart-topping K-pop boy band NCT 127 is one of the offshoots of the Seoul-based NCT ("Neo Culture Technology"). Created by S.M. Entertainment, NCT boasts an unlimited number of members that populate multiple "sub-units" based in various international locales like Tokyo, Beijing, Shanghai, and Bangkok. The original group was composed of members of SM Rookies. The first spinoff, NCT U, was announced in early 2016. They released a pair of singles before a second incarnation was formed in July. NCT 127 featured seven members: Taeil Moon, Taeyong Lee, Jaehyun Jung, and Haechan (born Dong-hyuck Lee) from Korea, Yuta Nakamoto from Osaka, WinWin (born Dong Sicheng) from Zhejiang, China, and Mark Lee Min-hyung from Vancouver. The septet's early singles "Fire Truck" and "Once Again" appeared on their debut EP, NCT #127, which debuted at number two on the Billboard World Album chart. Later that year, Mark and Haechan would join the third iteration, NCT Dream, releasing "Chewing Gum" in both Korean and Mandarin versions. Meanwhile, NCT 127 added Johnny (John Seo of Chicago) and Doyoung (born Kim Dong-young) to the ranks at the end of 2016. In January 2017, NCT 127 released their second mini-album, Limitless, which debuted atop the Billboard World Albums chart. The Cherry Bomb EP followed soon after, hitting number two in both Korea and on the World Albums listing.

In 2018, NCT 127 rejoined their brethren in NCT and NCT Dream for the release of their official NCT full-length debut, NCT 2018 Empathy. The album was quickly followed by NCT 127's Japanese debut, the Chain EP, which was issued on Avex Trax. NCT 127 rounded out their year by releasing their official debut full-length, Regular-Irregular, that October. The album debuted within the Top 100 on the Billboard 200, their first appearance on the main U.S. chart. Months later, in 2019, the crew issued their first Japanese-language effort, Awaken (Avex Trax). ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Seoul, South Korea
Jul 2016

Similar Artists