About Hooverphonic

The Belgian ambient pop band Hooverphonic featured vocalist Liesje Sadonius, guitarist/programmer Alex Callier, keyboardist Frank Duchêne, and guitarist Raymond Geerts. Known simply as Hoover across Europe, the group made their initial splash contributing the song "2Wicky" to the soundtrack of the 1996 Bernardo Bertolucci film Stealing Beauty, followed by the full-length A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular the same year. Sadonius left Hooverphonic a short time later, and was replaced by vocalist Geike Arnaert in time to record 1998's Blue Wonder Power Milk. During the next decade, the band released four more studio albums and a live orchestral album, changed labels from Sony BMG to PIAS, and suffered the loss of another singer as Arnaert left the band to pursue a solo career. Their first album with her replacement Noémie Wolfs, entitled The Night Before, was issued in 2010.~ Jason Ankeny

    Brussels, Belgium
    October, 1995

Similar Artists