Latest Release

About Vessels

British indie electronic band Vessels formed in 2005 after they reshuffled the lineup of their previous outfit, with Lee J. Malcolm (guitars, laptop, and vocals), Tom Evans (guitar, vocals), Martin Teff (bass, synth), and drummer Tim Mitchell completing the group. While a part of the Leeds-based band's sound occupies similar post-rock territory to Mogwai and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, they take influence from electronica elements in much the same way as contemporaries 65daysofstatic, and draw on the likes of Battles, Four Tet, and electronic instruments within their complex sound. In 2006 they self-released an EP before signing with indie label Cuckundoo Records and put out a limited 7" single, "Yuki," the following year. Multi-instrumentalist Peter Wright was soon added to the fold and they then set out to Minneapolis, Minnesota, where they recorded their debut album, White Fields and Open Devices, with producer John Congleton (Explosions in the Sky, Xiu Xiu). They returned and embarked on a nationwide tour in 2008 before the album was released that summer. Their second album took shape in 2010 when they again traveled across the Atlantic -- this time to Dallas, Texas -- and again worked with John Congleton. The result was 2011's Helioscope, which was well received by fans and critics alike, and secured them a headlining spot on the BBC Introducing stage at Glastonbury. The band set off on tour again with dates across the U.K., Europe, and North America in 2012, and released a cover of electronic artist Nathan Fake's "The Sky Was Pink." The following year, the group released an EP titled Elliptic, which furthered their exploration of electronic dance music. Vessels moved to Leaf sub-label Bias in 2014, and full-length Dilate appeared in 2015, emphasizing dance beats more than any of their previous works. Several singles and remixes were released, and Vessels changed labels again in 2016, this time working with PIAS imprint Different. Singles "Had a Love," "Are You Trending?," and "4AM" all appeared that year. Vessels' fourth album, The Great Distraction, was released in 2017, including the Flaming Lips-featuring single "Deflect the Light." ~ Scott Kerr

Kitsap County, WA, United States

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada