Latest Release

Top Songs

Essential Album


Singles & EPs

About Tara Perdida

Tara Perdida is a Portuguese punk rock band with mainstream appeal whose fifth album, Nada a Esconder, was a Top Ten hit in 2008. Founded in 1995 in Lisbon, Portugal, the band is comprised of João Ribas (vocals, guitar; born João Ribas de Sousa on May 6, 1965, in Lisbon), Ruka (guitar; born João Rui Costa on May 24, 1973, in Lisbon), Ganso (guitar; born Tiago Felgueiras da Silva on May 15, 1975, in Lisbon), Jaime (bass; born Jaime Batista de Sousa on January 17, 1975, in Lisbon), and Rodrigo (drums; born Rodrigo Martins Alves on October 6, 1980, in Cascais). The original lineup included Cró (bass) and Orélio (drums), in addition to Ribas and Ruka. Prior to co-founding Tara Perdida, Ribas was a member of the band Censurados, which released three albums during their brief existence: Censurados (1990), Confusão (1991), and Sopa (1993). Tara Perdida made their eponymous album debut in 1996 and released their second album, Só Não Vê Quem Não Quer, in 1998 before splintering. Cró and Orélio left the band while Ganso, Jaime, and Rodrigo joined in their place. It took four years for Tara Perdida to return with their third album, É Assim (2002). Fourth album Lambe-Botas (2005) was a breakout success for the band. It led to a major-label recording deal with Universal Music and paved the way for the mainstream hit follow-up album, Nada a Esconder (2008), which reached number six on the Portuguese albums chart and spawned the single "Sentimento Ingénuo." A live video, É Incrivel (2008), was released on DVD around the same time. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Lisbon, Portugal

Similar Artists