Owain Arwel Hughes

Latest Release

About Owain Arwel Hughes

One of the leading conductors from the U.K., Owain Arwel Hughes has become as well known for his interpretations of Danish music as for British, and he is equally at home with choral works as orchestral. Although Hughes successfully launched his career in England and Wales, he branched out, both in his conducting activities and in his choice of repertory, when he accepted the post of principal conductor of the Ålborg Symphony Orchestra in Denmark. Hughes soon became a champion of the music of the composer Vagn Holmboe. A stream of recordings followed, including the massive Holmboe cycle, featuring all 14 symphonies. In 1986, Hughes founded the Welsh Proms Cymru, and in 2005, he founded the Camerata Wales. Conducting the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Hughes launched a cycle of Sibelius' symphonies in 2020, with the second release appearing in 2022.

Ton Pentre, Wales
21 March 1942