Latest Release

Artist Playlists

  • Yö Essentials

Live Albums

About Yö

Yö spent more than a quarter century among the driving forces in Finnish rock. Formed in Pori in 1981, the group originally comprised frontman Olli Lindholm, singer/keyboardist Jussi Hakulinen, guitarist Jani Viitanen, bassist Juha "Liuhu" Rauäng, and drummer Harri Varhala. In the years to follow, Yö (Finnish for "Night") was the subject of countless lineup changes, with Lindholm remaining the sole constant throughout the band's existence. Upon signing to the Poko label, Yö issued its debut LP, Varietee, in 1983, scoring a hit with the single "Likaiset Legendat I." Hakulinen exited the lineup two years later, conceding creative control to Lindholm, who emerged as one of the living legends of Scandinavian popular music. That same year, Yö issued Myrskyn Jälkeen, scoring a major hit with "Niin Paljon Me Teihin Luotettiin." With 1990's "Vie Mut Minne Vaan," the group notched its biggest hit to date, and retained both its commercial appeal and its critical respect throughout the decade, remaining a fixture of Finnish radio via singles like "Hyviä Vuosia," "Ihmisen Poika," and "Sua Muistoistani Pois En Saa." Yö entered its third decade with the smash "Kaksintaistelu" and in 2006 celebrated its silver anniversary with the two-disc Kolmen Illan Varietee. ~ Jason Ankeny

Pori, Finland

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada