About Nicole

Hailing from Seinäjoki, Finland, death metal band Nicole were founded in 1997 by singer/guitarist Ilkka Laitala, drummer Ville Sahakangas, and bassist Rantanen. They were briefly joined by singer/guitarist Jorma Korhonen, who was replaced in 1998 by Olli Ketola. Turntablist Otto Seppelin joined the band in 2000. After a number of demos and EPs, Nicole's first album, Odotus, was released in 2002 on Biotech Records. The same year, founding member Rantanen left the band and was replaced by Jussi Jokipii. The band's sophomore album, Suljetut Ajatukset, was released in 2004 and managed to reach number 37 on the Finnish charts. The same year, the group also issued its first live DVD, 120 Minuuttia. One year later, Seppelin and Jokipii left the band, with the latter being replaced by new bassist Sami Katajamäki.
With the release of their third album, Sivu Syyttömistä (which reached number 11 on the Finnish charts), and the group's appearance at the Tuska festival (which introduced them to international audiences), 2007 turned out to be Nicole's biggest year so far. Titled Tasavalta, another live DVD was released the same year. Nicole's fourth album, Tuomittujen Joukkoon, followed in 2009, as did another live DVD, X, which featured recordings from the group's tenth anniversary concert. ~ Christian Genzel


Similar Artists