Latest Release

Top Songs


Music Videos

Artist Playlists

Singles & EPs


Appears On

About Morat

This Colombian pop and folk quartet was formed in Bogotá in 2015 by childhood friends Juan Pablo Villamil Cortés (voice, banjo), Juan Pablo Isaza Piñeros (voice, guitar), Alejandro Posada Carrasco (percussion), and Simón Vargas Morales (bass). Their sound combines what Billboard called "Perfect summer road trip pop in Spanish, with banjo adding an Americana touch." The band was assembled when these friends and classmates graduated from high school. They made their recorded debut with the 2015 single "Mi Nuevo Vicio," whose version with Paulina Rubio reached the charts not only in Colombia but also in Spain (number one) and Mexico as well as inside the Top 20 on the Latin Songs Airplay chart. They followed with the EP Grabado en Madera, that included the chart-topping digital single "Cómo Te Atreves." Their debut long-player for Universal, Sobre el Amor y Sus Efectos Secundarios, included no follow-up singles. While on a promotional tour, they began writing their second album. A slew of singles hit the airwaves and streaming services including "Del Estadio al Cielo," "Amor con Hielo," and "Ladrona."

In April of 2017, "Se Que Te Duele," a collaborative single with Alejandro Fernandez, peaked inside the Top 50 on the Hot Latin Songs chart, followed by the full-length Sobre el Amor y Sus Efectos Secundario...Y Unas Cuantas Cosas Más in June. ~ Thom Jurek