Top Songs


Music Videos

About Martires Del Compas

Spanish experimental flamenco group Martires del Compas was formed in the early '90s by singer Chico Ocana, percussionist Alberto Alvarez (aka El Judi), and guitarist Marco Aguilar. They were later joined by guitarist Julio Revilla (aka El Irritante), bassist Jesus Diaz Benjumea, and percussionist Sidy Samb. After recording their first demo, Marco Aguilar left the act and was replaced by guitarist Manuel Soto (El Noly). Soon, the band recorded their debut album, Flamenco Billy. A year later, they represented Spain at Cannes' MIDEM Conference while promoting Prohibido Da el Cante, a mixture of flamenco, blues-rock, and Afro-Caribbean rhythms. In 1998, BMG-Ariola released Al Compas de la Llaga Dolorida, followed by 2000's Mordiendo el Duende.

Similar Artists