Flash Cadillac and The Continental Kids

Similar Artists

About Flash Cadillac and The Continental Kids

Formed in Colorado, USA in March 1969, Flash Cadillac And The Continental Kids were one of several bands to parody 50s rock in the wake of Sha Na Na. The original line-up comprised University of Colorado students, Kris ‘Angelo’ Moe (keyboards, vocals), Linn ‘Spike’ Phillips III (d. March 1993; guitar, vocals), Mick ‘Flash’ Manresa (guitar, vocals), George Robinson (saxophone), Warren ‘Butch’ Knight (bass, vocals) and Harold ‘Marty’ Fielden (drums). They began to gain popularity within the music industry after moving to Los Angeles in 1971 where they met pop svengali Kim Fowley. Line-up changes saw Manresa and Fielden replaced by Sam ‘Flash’ McFadin (d. 31 August 2001, Colorado Springs, USA; guitar, vocals) and John ‘Ricco’ Masino (drums). The latter was the first in a line of several drummers, including Jeff ‘Wally’ Stewart and Paul ‘Wheaty’ Wheatbread. The band went on to make successful appearances in the movies American Graffiti and Apocalypse Now, and the television series American Bandstand and Happy Days. Their promising 1973 debut contained respectable readings of rock ‘n’ roll favourites. A second set, No Face Like Chrome, contained material indebted to 50s, 60s and 70s styles and was probably reminiscent of Britain’s pub rock scene. Although they enjoyed three minor US hits with ‘Dancin’ (On A Saturday Night)’, ‘Good Times, Rock & Roll’ and ‘Did You Boogie (With Your Baby)’, the band, with saxophonist Dwight ‘Spider’ Bement playing an increasingly important role in their sound, had faded from the national music scene by the late 70s. Now known as Flash Cadillac, they set up their own recording studio near Colorado Springs and continued to tour on the summer fair circuit, sometimes with a full symphony orchestra, as well as producing and performing music for the syndicated oldies radio show Supergold. Both Phillips and McFadin succumbed to heart attacks, the former in March 1993 and the latter in August 2001.