Latest Release

About Lordi

Vocalist Tomi Petteri Putaansuu, aka Mr. Lordi, assembled Lordi in 1996 and, after recruiting guitarist Jussi Sydänmaa, bassist Magnum, keyboardist Erna Siikavirta, and drummer Sampsa Astala, began writing songs as well as creating elaborate foam-latex monster costumes and pyrotechnic effects for the band's theatrical live performances. Lordi signed to Sony BMG's Finland branch and issued a debut LP, 2002's Get Heavy, but lineup changes ensued as the group issued its sophomore album, 2004's The Monsterican Dream, and third full-length, The Arockalypse, whose chart-topping lead single, "Hard Rock Hallelujah," was chosen as Finland's official entry in the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest. Their operatic heavy metal and monster-movie stage persona notwithstanding, Lordi claimed the top prize (Finland's first Eurovision win), scoring the most points in contest history. ~ Jason Ankeny

Rovaniemi, Finland
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada