Brighton Rock

About Brighton Rock

Heart Attack -- not the medical condition, but the indie rock band -- formed in the early '80s. It performed music that fit somewhere in between alternative pop/rock and heavy metal, completing a number of singles, an EP, four albums, and one music video, all under the name Brighton Rock. Members were lead singer Gerald McGhee, keyboardists Martin Victor and Johnny Rogers, guitarist Greg Fraser, bassist Stevie "Skreebs" Skrebiec, and drummer Mark Cavarzan. Guitarist Greg Bioleau also performed with the guys when the group hit the road to tour. Trouble with its label and management put an end to the group at the beginning of the '90s. Soon after its conception, Heart Attack changed its name to Brighton Rock. In 1986, the band released an EP, Young, Wild and Free. Some of the tunes from the debut are "Can't Wait for the Night," "Assault Attack," "We Came to Rock," "Jack Is Back," and "Change of Heart." The recording did much better than expected for a first-time offering, making waves in several countries, including Germany, Ireland, and France. A year later, Brighton Rock recorded an album, sticking it with the same title as the EP, hoping to ride the success a little further. The full-length recording didn't live up to those hopes. In 1989, a sophomore hit the market, Take a Deep Breath, and then in 1991 one final album, Love Machine. ~ Charlotte Dillon

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada