Serú Girán

Essential Albums

Music Videos

Live Albums


About Serú Girán

Serú Girán, a progressive rock band from Argentina, was formed in the late '70s by Charly García, guitarist David Lebón, bassist Pedro Aznar, and drummer Oscar Moro. After leading la Máquina de Hacer Pájaros, García moved to Brazil to start his new project. In 1978, Serú Girán was released after recording sessions in Sao Paulo and Los Angeles, with Daniel Goldberg in charge of its orchestral arrangements. That album was presented first to music journalists and later at Buenos Aires' Luna Park. The press was pleased, but music fans weren't prepared for the experimental style played by the band. The mixed response to their debut drove Serú Girán to release a less complicated album in 1979 called La Grasa de las Capitales, presented live at the Buenos Aires' Auditorium. Bicicleta came in 1980, followed by a show at the Monterrey Jazz Festival in Rio de Janeiro. Peperina '81 was released in 1981. The band decided to break up after two shows at Obras Sanitarias in March 1982. Serú Girán came back with Serú in 1992 and Yo No Quiero Volverme Tan Loco in the year 2000. ~ Drago Bonacich

Alternative and Latin Rock

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada