Dallas Crane

Artist Playlists

About Dallas Crane

Dallas Crane is an Australian rock band with a timeless sound -- that of denim and scuffed boots and twanging guitars. Originally formed under the name Tempered Kin in 1996, the group consisting of Dave Larkin (vocals, guitar), Shan Vanderwert (drums), Pete Satchell (guitar), and Chris Brodie (bass) got their start in Melbourne, Victoria. Their early rehearsals took place afterhours in a transport company's truck yard, the rent paid in beer. A change of name was dedicated to that company: Dallas Crane Transport. After two years of steady gigging they recorded their debut album, Lent, entirely financed on their own. On its back they toured with heroes of theirs, You Am I, striking up a friendship with lead singer Tim Rogers. Rogers would later convince them to lend a cover of the Missing Links' song "Wild About You" to the soundtrack of the movie Dirty Deeds. It wasn't until the release of their second album, 2000's Twenty Four Seven, that the band came to widespread media attention. That album was declared Album of the Week by Beat Magazine and Rock Record of the Summer by In-Press. Bassist Chris Brodie was replaced by Pat Bourke when the band signed to Albert Productions. With their help in 2004 they released a self-titled album, which was nominated for three ARIA awards. That year they won an Australian Live Music Award for Best Live Band. Problems with their distributor -- Festival Mushroom was bought by Warner before they were passed on to Sony BMG, all in the space of a year -- delayed their next album, Factory Girls, until 2006. They used the extra time well, recording six more songs than originally planned, all of which made it onto the album. It was received well, making their first dent in the album charts. ~ Jody Macgregor


Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada