About Hellions

The three founding members of Sydney hardcore band Hellions (vocalist Dre Faivre, guitarist/vocalist Matthew Gravolin, and drummer Anthony Caruso) formed the group in early 2013 after the breakup of their previous group, the Bride. The group quickly established itself in the Australian hardcore scene with its intense, theatrical performances, touring with bands such as Deez Nuts, Hand of Mercy, and In Hearts Wake, and performing as part of the Vans Warped Tour. Debut album Die Young, recorded in Thailand with producer Shane "Buddha" Edwards, arrived on UNFD in September of 2013. After taking most of 2014 off, the band returned to Thailand to record its second album with Edwards. Indian Summer appeared in early 2015, and was more diverse and musically developed than its predecessor, incorporating hip-hop and acoustic elements. That same year, Hellions welcomed new members Josh Campiao (guitar, backing vocals) and Chris Moretti (bass, backing vocals) into the band, forming the expanded lineup that would record their breakout album, Opera Oblivia, the following year. The band's most successful effort to date, Opera Oblivia was nominated for an ARIA Award for Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album in 2016. In support of their 2017 tour with You Me at Six, Hellions released a version of their album track "24" including a guest vocal by You Me at Six's Josh Franceschi. The single was backed with a cover of Green Day's "Jesus of Suburbia." ~ Paul Simpson

    Sydney, Australia

Similar Artists